Opening Concert with Beethoven X

2022-07-09 19:30:00

Congress Center Villach


Opening Concert with Beethoven X

2022-07-09 19:30:00
Congress Center Villach

What would Beethoven’s 10th Symphony have sounded like? Would he have completed it, where would his thoughts have led? Prisma Wien opens a game with the possibilities of artificial intelligence with the Austrian premiere of an international experiment.

Prisma Vienna
Johannes Zeinler, Organ
Thomas Fheodoroff, Violin & Conductor
Ludwig van Beethoven: Violin Concerto in C Major, WoO 5:
1st movement con Brio (completed by Joseph Hellmesberger)
Ludwig van Beethoven: 10th Symphony, reconstruction based on fragments using artificial intelligence (ÖEA)
Ludwig van Beethoven: 5th Symphony op. 67

▶ Musical preview

€ 79 / 69 / 49

Payment methods: Visa, MasterCard, Dinners, American Express, Sofort Überweisung. Discounts and Conditions *Pupils & Students

Ludwig van Beethoven’s 9th Symphony was a gigantic success and still is today. Upon its completion, Beethoven continued to work on another symphony until the end of his life. At the time of his death, however, only sketches and working stages were available; no part of the composition had been completed.
To mark the 250th anniversary of Ludwig van Beethoven’s birth in 2020, an international team of music experts, scientists from the Beethoven House in Bonn and experts in artificial intelligence have attempted to reconstruct his ideas for a 10th symphony from Beethoven’s legacy notes and fragments with the help of artificial intelligence. Out of this delightful attempt came a possible new version of a symphony, based on Beethoven’s sketches.
Would it have turned out like this, or completely differently? A question that Joseph Hellmesberger also had to ask himself, when completing the first movement of an unfinished violin concerto by Beethoven from his Bonn years.
Prisma Vienna debates the courageous experiment of a reconstruction by means of artificial intelligence in the Austrian premiere and at the same time enables a comparison with an unquestionably genuine Beethoven symphony: the 5th Symphony, a masterpiece that stands completely on its own two feet.

€ 79 / 69 / 49

Zahlungsmethoden: Visa, MasterCard, Dinners, American Express, Sofort Überweisung.
Ermäßigungen und Bedingungen.


With the kind support of

Magenta Telekom
Program overview